Mites celebrate Winter Blast title

The Los Angeles Jr. Kings celebrated the Mite Track I division championship at this year’s Winter Blast Tournament, which was contested from Dec. 26-28 at The Rinks-Lakewood Ice.

The Dimitri Voulelikas-coached group was comprised of players from all three Jr. Kings Mite teams, along with an In-House player, and faced off against Anaheim Jr. Ducks White, Jr. Ducks Black and the San Francisco Sabercats.

The Jr. Kings entered the championship game as the second seed (10 points, 3-3 record) where they matched up against the No. 1-seeded Sabercats (10, 4-0-2).

At the end of regulation, the back-and-forth finale was knotted 7-7 before the Jr. Kings lit the lamp during the 10-minute sudden-death overtime to stake claim to the title.

The Jr. Kings lost to the Sabercats in their two round-robin seeding games.

“This was a big step up for all the Track II kids, and they took their intensity, skill and physicality to the next level,” said Jr. Kings Track II manager Joel Poinsett. “All the kids played with a lot of heart and resolve to pull it out in the final.”

Team members included: Edward Balazs, Jackson Silverberg and Vladimir Usenko from the 06 Track I team; Masun Fleece, Tyler Russell and Brady Witkin from the 07 Track I squad; Trent Green, Luke Norcross, Dylan Podergois, Noah Poinsett-Yoshida and Anthony Trutanich from the 07 Track II club; and Quentin Bourne (In-House).